Vote for nature

Vote for Nature

Tern by Phill Luckhurst/distinctlyaverage

Vote for nature in the local elections

Nature doesn’t have a vote, so the Wildlife Trust is speaking up for all local wildlife and the local environment. In council elections on Thursday 6 May 2021 over 350 councillors will be elected in 9 councils across Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire. 

Councils with elections:

• Buckinghamshire Council (all seats)
• Oxfordshire County Council (all seats)
• Cherwell District Council (1/3 of councillors)
• Milton Keynes Council (1/3 of councillors)
• Oxford City Council (all seats)
• Reading Borough Council (1/3 of councillors)
• Slough Borough Council (1/3 of councillors)
• West Oxfordshire District Council (1/3 of councillors)
• Wokingham Borough Council (1/3 of councillors)

We are fighting for nature, and we’re calling on current and future councillors to take their local environment and nature seriously. We are asking all current councillors and prospective councillors to make a pledge to take action for nature.

This is the pledge we are asking them to make:

I pledge that if elected I will work to ensure that my council adopts a target of 30% of land being well managed for nature by 2030.

Steps to achieve this include:

  • council to declare an ecological emergency
  • council to maximise opportunities for wildlife on road verges and green spaces
  • council to stop routine and unnecessary use of chemicals harmful to nature
  • council to influence landowners, developers, business and communities to maximise opportunities for nature.

Find more information about the pledge for nature.

How can I make sure wildlife has a voice in the local elections?

This is your opportunity to demand that nature and the environment is a priority for your council. Please ask your local candidates to sign the pledge.

1. Find out who your candidates are

If you want to contact your current councillors you can find details on your council website.

To find out who your candidates are, take a look at Who Can I Vote For. You can also look on your council website and in your local press. You might also receive leaflets through your door.

2. Ask your candidates to sign the Pledge for Nature

If you speak to your candidates on the doorstep, at a meeting or hustings, or if you contact them by email, please ask them to sign the Pledge for Nature.

Find out if your candidates have signed the pledge

Click on the council name to see a list of the councillors and candidates that have signed the pledge.

* Indicates councillors and candidates who have not signed the pledge but have indicated broad support for it's objectives.

Buckinghamshire Council

Aston Clinton and Bierton

Alan Sherwell - Liberal Democrat

David Sullivan - Green 


Colin Bloxham - Green 

Aylesbury East 

Jeremy Hodge - Liberal Democrat

Aylesbury North

Zachary Nuttall - Liberal Democrat- 

Timothy Dixon - Liberal Democrat

Aylesbury South East

Richard LLoyd - Liberal Democrat

Aylesbury West

Alan Cooper - Green

Adam Poland - Liberal Democrat

Bernwood Green

Richard Torpey - Green

Johanna Wheeler - Green

Buckingham West

Cody Garland - Green

Gerrards Cross

Julian Ingram - Liberal Democrat

Great Brickhill

Bob Eastoe - Green

Rymead and Micklefield

Xocoa Sharma - Liberal Democrat

Steeple Claydon

Clare Butler - Green

Waddesdon and Stone Green

Doug Kennedy - Green


Tom Hodge - Green 


Janet Pentony - Green


Mary Hunt - Green

Cherwell District Council

Banbury Hardwick

Christopher Manley - Green

Calthorpe and Easington

Julia Middleton - Green

Kidlington East

Ian Middleton - Green

Oxford City Council

Carfax and Jericho

Charlotte Schofield - Green

Sarah Edwards - Green


Steve Rogers - Green

Duncan Watts - Green


Steve Dawe - Green

Hazel Dawe - Green

David Henwood - Independent


Rowan Munson - Green

Ray Hitchens - Green

Headington Hill and Northway

Chris Brewer - Green

Lye Valley

Tim Patmore - Conservative


Kate Robinson - Green

Mike Rowley - Labour

Quarry and Risinghurst

Roz Smith - Liberal Democrat

Rosehill and Iffley

Nuala Young - Green

Stephen Thomas - Green


Joshua Deru - Green

John Fox - Green

Temple Cowley

Lubna Arshad - Labour

Walton Manor

Louise Upton - Labour


Jane Wilkinson - Green

Shiela Cameron - Green

Steve Goddard - Liberal Democrat

Liz Wade - Liberal Democrat


Oxfordshire County Council

Abingdon East

Alison Rooke - Liberal Democrat

Cheryl Briggs - Green

Abingdon North

Michael Grandjean - Green

Benson and Cholsey

Katharine Keats-Rohan - Liberal Democrat

Berinsfield and Garsington

Robin Bennett - Green

Burford and North Carterton

Rosie Pearson - Green

Nicholas Field-Johnson - Conservative

Chalgrove and Watlington

Freddie van Mierlo - Liberal Democrat

Charlbury and Wychwood

Frances Mortimer - Green

Chipping Norton

Macolm Brown - Green


Sean Grace - Conservative

Grove North

Viral Patel - Green

Grove - Wantage

Kerstin Fischer-Johnston - Green

Headington and Quarry

Roz Smith - Liberal Democrat


Nuala Young - Green

Jericho and Osney

Sarah Edwards - Green

Susanna Pressel - Labour

Kennington and Radley Green

Thomas Gaston - Green

Kingham, Rollright, Enstone

Amy Long - Green

North HInksey

Katherine Phillips - Green


Katherine Foxhall - Green

Sonning Common

Jo Robb - Green

Thame and Chinnor

Morgan James - Green

Jeannette Matelot - Independent

Wantage and Grove

Jenny Hannaby - Liberal Democrat

West Witney and Bampton

Sandra Simpson - Green

Stuart McCarroll - Labour


Tim Bearder - Liberal Democrat

Witney North and East

Duncan Enright - Labour

Andrew Prosser - Green

Witney South and Central

Andrew Coles - Labour

Wolvercote and Summertown

Shiela Cameron - Green



Milton Keynes Council

No candidates or councillors have signed the pledge yet.

Reading Borough Council


Tony Page* - Labour

Karen Rowland* - Labour

Church Green

Kathryn McCann - Green


Rose Williams* - Labour


Isobel Ballsdon - Conservative


Ellie Emberson* - Labour


Brenda McGonigle - Green

Josh Williams - Green


Jamie Whitham - Green

David McElroy - Green


Meri O'Connell - Liberal Democrat


Slough Borough Council

No candidates or councillors have signed the pledge yet.

West Oxfordshire District Council

Bampton and Clanfield 

Sarah Hayton - Labour

Alma Tumilowicz - Green

Cassington and Eynsham

Sean Grace - Conservative

Ed Rolinson - Green


Liz Reason - Green

Chipping Norton

James Styring - Green

Malcolm Brown - Green

Hanborough and Freeland

Angela Wilson - Green

Kingham, Rollright, Enstone

Alex Wilson - Conservative

Milton Green

Timothy Eden - Green

North Leigh

Harry St John* - Conservative

Julia Shay - Green

Stonesfield and Tackley

Frances Mortimer - Green

Witney Central

Harriet Kopinska - Green

Andrew Coles - Labour

Witney East

S Simpson - Green

Duncan Enright - Labour

Witney North

Ruth Smith - Labour

Andrew Prosser - Green

Witney South

Cather Rae - Green

Michael Booker - Labour

Carol Cather - Green

Witney West

Stuart McCarroll - Labour

Woodstock and Bladen

Barry Wheatley - Green


Wokingham Borough Council


Mark Craske - Labour

Andrew Mickleburgh - Liberal Democrat


Wesley Budd - Liberal Democrat

Pauline Jorgensen - Conservative


Anne Chadwick - Conservative

Shinfield South

Chris Johnson - Liberal Democrat

If you are a candidate or councillor in the May 2021 local elections, you can find out more about signing the pledge here.