Vote for nature

Vote for Nature

Stonechat by Ben Hall/2020VISION

Vote for nature in your local elections

Nature doesn’t have a vote, so the Wildlife Trust is speaking up for all local wildlife and the local environment. In council elections on Thursday 2 May 2019 nearly 500 councillors will be elected in 11 councils across Berkshire and Oxfordshire.

    We are fighting for nature, and we’re calling on current and future councillors to take their local environment and nature seriously. We are asking all current councillors and prospective councillors to make a pledge to take action for nature.

    Find out who has signed the Pledge

    Click on the council name to see a list of the councillors and candidates that have signed the Pledge.

    Bracknell Forest Borough Council

    Central Sandhurst

    • Michael Brossard - Conservative
    • Mike Forster - Liberal Democrat

    College Town

    • Nick Allen - Conservative

    Great Hollands North

    • Mary Temperton  Labour

    Great Hollands South

    • Derek Florey - Green Party

    Wildridings and Central

    • Thomas Parker - Liberal Democrat

    Cherwell District Council

    Banbury Ruscote

    • Sean Woodcock - Labour

    Milton Keynes Council

    Campbell Park and Old Woughton

    • Peter MacDonald - Conservative
    • Terry Baines - Conservative


    • Vanessa McPake - Liberal Democrat

    Reading Borough Council


    • Dr John Grout - Liberal Democrat


    • Isobel Ballsdon - Conservative


    • James Moore - Liberal Democrat


    • Josh Williams - Green Party


    • Jamie Whitham - Green Party


    • Rachel Eden - Labour

    Slough Borough Council


    • Safdar Ali - Labour

    South Oxfordshire District Council

    Benson & Crowmarsh

    • Andrea Powell - Green Party
    • Sue Cooper - Liberal Democrat


    • Robin Bennett - Green Party

    Sandham & the Wittenhams

    • Sam Casey-Rerhaye - Green Party


    • Sue Roberts - Green Party

    Vale of White Horse District Council

    Abingdon Abbey Northcourt

    • Helen Pighills - Liberal Democrat

    Abingdon Caldecott

    • Mike Badcock - Conservative

    Abingdon Dunmore

    • Andy Foulsham - Liberal Democrat

    Abingdon Fitzharris

    • Eric de la Harpe - Liberal Democrat
    • Rob Maddison - Liberal Democrat

    Blewbury & Harwell

    • Sarah Medley - Liberal Democrat

    Botley and Sunningwell

    • Debby Hallett - Liberal Democrat
    • Emily Smith - Liberal Democrat


    • Judy Roberts - Liberal Democrat
    • Alison Jenner - Liberal Democrat

    Great Farringdon

    • Bethia Thomas - Liberal Democrat

    Kennington and Radley

    • Bob Johnston - Liberal Democrat
    • Diana Lugova - Liberal Democrat

    North Grove

    • Ronald Batstone - Liberal Democrat


    • Max Thompson - Liberal Democrat


    • Paul Barrow - Liberal Democrat


    • Philippa Roberts - Liberal Democrat

    Wantage Charlton

    • Andrew Crawford - Liberal Democrat

    Wantage and Grove Brook

    • Amos Duveen - Liberal Democrat


    • Val Shaw - Liberal Democrat


    West Berkshire Council


    • David Hancock - Labour


    • Alex Carter - Green

    Burghfield and Mortimer

    • Royce Longton - Liberal Democrat


    • Jackie Paynter - Green Party

    Central Newbury

    • Mark Beach - Labour
    • Caroline ffrench Blake - Labour
    • Andy Moore - Liberal Democrat

    Chieveley and Cold Ash

    • Jill Hoblin - Green Party
    • James Thomas - Green Party
    • David Lister - Liberal Democrat


    • Gary Puffett - Labour

    Hungerford and Kintbury

    • Denise Gaines - Liberal Democrat

    Newbury Clayhill

    • Lee McDougall - Labour

    Newbury Greenham

    • Matthew Lowe - Green Party


    • Matt Shakespeare -  Liberal Democrat
    • Suzie Ferguson - Labour


    • Carolyne Culver - Green Party
    • Charlotte Blackman - Labour


    • Steve Masters - Green Party
    • Tony Harris - Liberal Democrat

    Thatcham Central

    • Paul Field - Green Party
    • Dave Burns - Labour
    • Owen Jeffery - Liberal Democrat

    Thatcham, Colthrop and Crookham

    • John Boyd - Liberal Democrat

    Thatcham North East

    • Neale Hall - Labour
    • Lee Dillon - Liberal Democrat

    Thatcham West

    • Susan Turauskis - Labour


    • Chris Ryder - Labour

    Tilehurst Birch Copse

    • Gary Brampton - Green Party

    Wash Common

    • David Marsh - Green Party
    • Peter Tullett - Labour
    • Tony Vickers - Liberal Democrat


    • Elizabeth O'Keeffe - Liberal Democrat

    West Oxfordshire District Council


    • Andy Graham - Liberal Democrat

    Eynsham, Cassington & S. Leigh

    • Dan Levy - Liberal Democrat

    Witney Central

    • Andrew Coles - Labour

    Witney East

    • Duncan Enright - Labour

    Witney South

    • Alvin Adams - Conservative


    Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Council


    • John Baldwin - Liberal Democrat
    • Simon Bond - Liberal Democrat

    Bisham & Cookham

    • Mark Howard - Liberal Democrat
    • Mandy Brar - Liberal Democrat

    Boyn Hill

    • Adam Bermange - Liberal Democrat

    Clewer  & Dedworth East

    • Mark Wilson - Liberal Democrat

    Clewer East

    • Karen Davies - Liberal Democrat      

    Furze Platt

    • Derek Sharp - Conservative
    • Catherine del Campo - Liberal Democrat
    • Joshua Reynolds - Liberal Democrat

    St Marys

    • Richard Wawman - The Borough First


    • Simon Dudley - Conservative
    • Rob Castell - Liberal Democrat

    Sunningdale and Cheapside

    • Valerie Pike - The Borough First

    Wokingham Borough Council


    • Gary Cowan - Independent

    Bulmershe  & Whitegates

    • Carl Doran - Labour


    • Kate Haines - Conservative


    • Philip Mirfin - Conservative


    • Lynn Forbes - Independent


    • David Hare - Liberal Democrat
    sunlight through trees

    Bowdown woods by Julie Dickson

    The Pledge for Nature

    We are asking all candidates to pledge that:

    I believe we all need nature and I pledge to support the development of a Local Nature Recovery Map for my local authority and the embedding of it into local plans for this area.

    Find out more about the pledge

    Ask your current councillors and candidates to sign the Pledge for Nature.

    This is your opportunity to demand that nature and the environment is a priority for your local council. Please ask your local councillors and candidates to sign the pledge.

    You can find out which councillors and prospective councillors have already signed this pledge here.

    • Current councillors

    If you want to ask your current councillors to sign the pledge, you can find their contact details on your council website.

    • Councillor candidates

    To find out who your candidates are, take a look at Who Can I Vote For. You can also look on your council website and in your local press, and you might also receive leaflets through your door.

    If you speak to your councillors or candidates on the doorstep, at a meeting or hustings, or if you contact them by email, please ask them to sign the Pledge for Nature.

    If you are an existing councillor or a candidate in the May 2019 local elections, you can find out more about signing the pledge here.

    Thank you very much to all the current councillors who have signed in Buckinghamshire councils. They are not listed above because there will be no elections in Buckinghamshire councils this year.