Volunteer in Oxfordshire

Please join your local wildlife trust today

Please join your local wildlife trust today

Please join your local wildlife trust today

Volunteer with us to meet new people, develop new skills, gain valuable experience and benefit the wildlife in Oxfordshire.

How to start volunteering with us

  • Check the opportunities listed below to find out locations and times,
  • Contact the group you are interested in and find out when you can go along.

Additional roles

Wildlife Surveying Opportunities

The Biodiversity Team would like to hear from any naturalists keen to help with our Reserves Surveying Programme. We are always looking for experienced surveyors or wildlife enthusiasts, to help with our butterfly and dragonfly transects, bird surveys, botanical monitoring and many other surveys.
More details

Stockwatching

Can you help to check our livestock?

We are keen to hear from people who would be happy to check on our livestock once a week. Download more information about becoming a stockwatcher.

In Oxfordshire we are looking for help at:

  • Chimney Meadows nr Bampton
  • Parsonage Moor nr Abingdon
  • Westwell Gorse nr Burford
  • Hook Norton nr Chipping Norton
  • Tuckmill Meadows nr Watchfield/ Faringdon

Contact Elene Walton, Oxon Assistant Reserves Officer, on 01865 775476 ext 225 or elenewalton@bbowt.org.uk

Volunteer Surveyors

Do you enjoy getting out and enjoying nature reserves? Do you enjoy meeting new people?

We are looking for willing volunteers to help us better understand how people use nature reserves in Oxford City.

As part of the Wild Oxford project we are seeking sociable people who have an interest in wildlife and want to be part of a team of surveyors. You will approach members of the public enjoying our sites and ask them to take part in short visitor surveys.

The sites we are focussing on will be:

  • Lye Valley Nature Reserve in Headington
  • Rivermead Nature Park in Rose Hill
  • Chilswell Valley Nature Reserve in South Hinksey
  • Sydlings Copse Nature Reserve, Nr. Barton.

Full training will be provided and surveys can be conducted on a flexible basis. We would need a commitment of at least 6 months and would expect a minimum commitment of 1 afternoon per month.

Contact Andy Gunn, Wild Oxford Project Officer, on andygunn@bbowt.org.uk or 01865 775476 (Ext. 237)

Oxfordshire Work Parties

Work parties carry out practical work on our reserves. They are a great way to meet new people, help local wildlife and get fit.

If you are under 18 please ensure you take a completed parental consent form along to the work-party.

Blenheim Farm Community Nature Reserve, Charlbury

Occasional work parties and events only.

Contact Mark Bradfield on markbradfield@bbowt.org.uk or 01865 775476

Chimney Meadows nr. Bampton

1st & 3rd Thursday of each month.

Contact: Louise King on 01367 870904 or louiseking@bbowt.org.uk

Chinnor Hill nr. Lewknor

2nd Sunday each month. Please ring before attending.

Contact: Mike Turton on 07877 897939

Cothill Nature Reserves (mainly Parsonage Moor) nr. Oxford - currently full

3rd Sunday of each month.

Contact: Elene Walton on 01865 775476 or elenewalton@bbowt.org.uk

C S Lewis Nature Reserve nr. Oxford

1st Sunday of the month (alternate months)

Contact: Mark Bradfield on 01865 775476 or markbradfield@bbowt.org.uk

Dry Sandford Pit nr. Abingdon

1st Sunday of each month

Contact: Steve Grigson on 01865 390540

Hartslock nr. Reading

2nd Sunday of each month

Contact: Chris Raper on 07775 673467 or chris.raper@hartslock.org.uk

Letcombe Valley (Letcombe Regis) nr. Wantage

3rd Saturday of each month (Currently full)

Contact: Michael Bailey on letcombevalley@gmail.com or 01235 769194

Oxfordshire Mid-Week team - currently full

Every Wednesday 

Contact: Roseanna Reed on 01865 775476 or roseannareed@bbowt.org.uk

Sutton Courtenay nr Didcot. (Friday work party)

Meet alternate Fridays for wildlife gardening or reserve maintenance tasks.

Contact Mark Bradfield on markbradfield@bbowt.org.uk or 01865 775476

North Oxon Group (Various reserves near Banbury) - currently full

Usually Tuesdays. 

Contact: Reg Tipping on 01295 251073 or reg.tipping@gmail.com

Upper Ray - Meadow Farm near Bicester

Meets every Tuesday.

Contact Andy Collins on andycollins@bbowt.org.uk or 01869 245864 

Warburg Nature Reserve nr. Henley-on-Thames 

Every Tuesday & Wednesday 

Contact: Giles Alder on gilesalder@bbowt.org.uk or 01491 642001

 

Developing your skills

We've got plenty of short courses on offer. Develop your skills with our training programme.

Help the bees

Bee by Gilliane Sills

Bumblebees and honey bees are declining in the UK, endangering the food chains that depend on them. We can all help reverse this trend.

Find out how

Monitoring Wildlife

Dark Green Fritillary by Keith Warmington

We are always very keen to receive any ad hoc wildlife records you may collect from our reserves. Find out how to send your data to us.