Volunteer in Buckinghamshire

Please join your local wildlife trust today

Please join your local wildlife trust today

Please join your local wildlife trust today

Volunteer with us to meet new people, develop new skills, gain valuable experience and benefit the wildlife in Buckinghamshire.

How to start volunteering with us

  • Check the opportunities listed below to find out locations and times,
  • Contact the group you are interested in and find out when you can go along.

Additional roles

Wildlife Surveying Opportunities

The Biodiversity Team would like to hear from any naturalists keen to help with our Reserves Surveying Programme. We are always looking for experienced surveyors or wildlife enthusiasts, to help with our butterfly and dragonfly transects, bird surveys, botanical monitoring and many other surveys.
More details

Stockwatching

Can you help to check our livestock?

We are keen to hear from people who would be happy to check on our livestock once a week. Download more information about becoming a stockwatcher.

In Buckinghamshire we are looking for help at:

  • Gomm Valley nr High Wycombe
  • Swains Wood nr Watlington
  • Windsor Hill nr Princes Risborough

Contact Stacey Hewitt, Buckinghamshire Reserves Officer, on 01442 826774 ext.208 staceyhewitt@bbowt.org.uk.

Regional groups

Do you want to help organise walks, talks and sales to help promote the work of the Trust? Join our dedicated regional group:

Buckinghamshire Work Parties

Work parties carry out practical work on our reserves. They are a great way to meet new people, help local wildlife and get fit.

If you are under 18 please ensure you take a completed parental consent form along to the work-party.

Aston Clinton Rag Pits

No fixed dates yet.

Contact Philip Townsend on philjtownsend@yahoo.co.uk for information on next work party.

Calvert Jubilee work party

3rd Thursday of the month

Contact Clive Dalzell on clive.dalzell@careers.ox.ac.uk

Bucks Mid-Week Team

Every Wednesday. (Currently full)

Contact: Chris Trew on 01442 826774 ext. 216 or christrew@bbowt.org.uk

Bacombe Hill (Wendover)

2nd Thursday of the month, initially going to be October through to March.

Contact: Steve Keene steve_keene@btinternet.com or call 07544 576854.

College Lake Wildlife Gardening Group

Every Wednesday. (currently full)

Contact: Paul Simmons on 01442 826774 or paulsimmons@bbowt.org.uk

College Lake Tuesday Team 

Meet every Tuesday at College Lake Nature Reserve and carry out practical tasks on site.

Contact Leo Keedy on 01442 826774 or leokeedy@bbowt.org.uk

College Lake Friday Team 

Meet every Friday at College Lake Nature Reserve and carry out practical tasks on site.

Contact Leo Keedy on 01442 826774 or leokeedy@bbowt.org.uk

College Lake Visitor Centre

We have a vibrant and busy Visitor Centre at College Lake, Tring. We are in need of people to undertake a variety of voluntary roles. They include: Café volunteers, events help and Meet & Greet volunteers.

Please call College Lake on 01442 826774 for more info or email: collegelake@bbowt.org.uk

Dancersend nr. Tring

2nd Sunday of each month

Contact: Judy Fisher on 01494 722073    

Finemere Woods between Bicester and Aylesbury

4th Thursday of the month

Contact: Charlotte Karmali on charlottekarmali@outlook.com

Foxcote Reservoir

No fixed dates yet.

Contact Bill Parker on billjoparker@btinternet.com for information on next work party.

Homefield Wood nr. Marlow

3rd Saturday of each month

Contact: John Sumpter on 01491 638333 or Phillip Pratt on 01494 523869

Little Linford Wood nr. Milton Keynes

4th Sunday of each month, September - April

Contact: Phillip Sarre on 01908 563479

Pilch Field work parties 

No fixed dates yet. Contact Ann Biggins on annieqq@hotmail.co.uk or 

07961960802. 

Pitstone Fen nr Tring

Meet on 1st Saturday of every month.

Contact: Steve Keene on steve_keene@btinternet.com or 07544 576854

Rushbeds Wood nr. Brill (Weekends)

1st Sunday of each month, September - March 

Contact: Becky Woodell on 01844 238399

Rushbeds Wood nr. Brill (Week Day)

1st Thursday of the month.

Contact: Tim Read on timread@bbowt.org.uk

Upper Ray -  Meadow Farm near Bicester 

Meet every Tuesday.

Contact Andy Collins on andycollins@bbowt.org.uk or 01869 245864

Weston Turville Reservoir nr. Wendover

Last Thursday of each month, July - March 

Contact: Stacey Hewitt on staceyhewitt@bbowt.org.uk or 07921 056415.

Whitecross Green Wood nr. Murcott

Sundays (excluding 1st of the month) September - March

Contact: Becky Woodell on 01844 238399

Yoesden work parties

No fixed dates yet. Contact Ched George on c5hed.george@btinternet.com for information on next work party. 

Developing your skills

We've got plenty of short courses on offer. Develop your skills with our training programme.

Help the bees

Bee by Gilliane Sills

Bumblebees and honey bees are declining in the UK, endangering the food chains that depend on them. We can all help reverse this trend.

Find out how

Monitoring Wildlife

Dark Green Fritillary by Keith Warmington

We are always very keen to receive any ad hoc wildlife records you may collect from our reserves. Find out how to send your data to us.